Preserving Traditional Canadian Fiddling since 1989

Préserver le violon traditionnel canadien depuis 1989



2023 Junior Showcase Applications now open!

The CGMFA is now accepting applications for this year's Junior Showcase Performances, which will take place as part of the 2023 CGMFC in Truro, NS on August 26, 2023.

Deadline for entry is April 1, 2023. Apply to be a Junior Showcase Participant at the link below:

Online Fiddle Workshop: Louis Schryer

Sunday, February 19 2023
8am PST / 11am EST

Join us for an online fiddle workshop with 3-time CGM Champion and our only 4-time Champion, Louis Schryer!

2023 Competition

The Canadian Grand Masters Fiddling Competition is heading to Nova Scotia for the very first time! The 2023 CGMFC will be held from August 25-26, 2023 in Truro, NS.

Visit the website below for more information, as it becomes available:

2022 Competition Results

Host City: Winnipeg, MB

1. Ethan Harty - AB
(now a two-time CGM Champion!)

2. Kyle Burghout - MB

3. Alex Kusturok - AB

4. Alanna Jenish - ON

5. Michael Burnyeat - BC

6. Paul Lemelin - ON

7. Max Francis - BC

8. Ryan Rene Joshua D'Aoust - MB

9. Emily Yarascavitch - ON

10. Braden Troy Gates - AB

The Ward Allen Memorial Trophy for “Best Old Time Waltz” - Anna Smilek - ON (Aretha’s Waltz)

Calvin Vollrath’s People’s Choice Award - Malacai Hiebert - MB (voted by the audience)

The 2022 Canadian Fiddle Hall of Honour Inductees: Larry Martineau, Frontier School Division (Blaine Klippenstein & Cameron Baggins), Anne Lederman, Mel Bedard, Garry Lepine, Patti Kusturok.

CGMFA Board of Directors

Mark Sullivan
Abbotsford, BC

Patti Kusturok
Vice President
Winnipeg, MB

Jane Cory
Winnipeg, MB

Daniel Gervais
Edmonton, AB

Trent Bruner
Canwood, SK

Kyle Burghout
Winnipeg, MB

Brian Hebert
Pembroke, ON

Kimberley Holmes
Carroll's Corner, NS

Victor Garbutt
Braeside, ON

Michel Mallette
Valleyfield, QC

James Steele
Saskatoon, SK

JJ Guy
Saskatoon, SK

Alanna Jenish
Peterborough, ON

Louis Schryer
Chapeau, QC