Morinville, AB

1st Place: Daniel Gervais (AB)
2nd Place:
Greg Henry (ON)
3rd Place:
James Steele (SK)

Top 11 Finalists:

  1. Daniel Gervais – AB

  2. Greg Henry – ON

  3. James Steele – SK

  4. Aynsley Porchak – ON

  5. Dan Mighton – ON

  6. Paul Lemelin – ON

  7. Kyle Burghout – ON

  8. Allison Granger – AB

  9. Kai Gronberg – BC

  10. Emily Yarascavitch – ON

  11. Troy MacGillivray – NS

Junior Showcase Performers:

  • Amanda MacInnis – ON

  • Colten Bear – AB

  • Duncan MacDougall – ON

  • James Ross – NT


  • Melika Lemelin – piano

  • Clinton Pelletier – guitar

  • Jeremy Rusu – piano


  • Ray Legere

  • Byron Myhre

  • Louis Schryer

Master of Ceremonies:

  • Gordon Stobbe

Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Roy Warhurst

People’s Choice Award:

  • Daniel Gervais (AB)

Yamaha Prize Winners

  • Martha Pitre (NB)

  • Scott Duncan (AB)


1st place – Title of Canadian Grand Masters Fiddling Champion ($3500)

Sponsored by the Alberta Society of Fiddlers

2nd place ($2250)

Sponsored by John Arcand Fiddle Fest

3rd place ($1100)

Sponsored by Prairie Mountain Fiddlers

4th to 11th places ($500.00)

Sponsored by the following

Elite Industrial Services


St Albert Inn & Suites

Northern Bluegrass Circle

Investors Group

Northwest Plumbing


People’s Choice Award

Sponsored by Calvin Vollrath

Ward Allen Memorial Trophy for “Best Old Time Waltz”

Sponsored by Ann Allen

Yamaha Electric Fiddles

Random draw from all contestants (2 winners)

Sponsored by Yamaha Canada Music Ltd.


Alberta Society of Fiddlers

BC Old Time Fiddlers’ Association

Calvin Vollrath

Collectors Corner

City of Edmonton


Daniel Gervais

Elite Industrial Services

Folkways Alive

Hairy Hill Mustard Farms

Investors Group

John Arcand Fiddle Fest

McNish Steel Ltd

Morinville Sobeys

Myhres Music

Northern Bluegrass Music Circle

Northwest Plumbing

Peavey Mart

Prairie Mountain Fiddlers

Prairie West Fiddle Contest

Renaissance Edmonton Airport Hotel

RV City

Société touristique

Centralta Tourism Society

St. Albert Inn and Suites

St Michael “Sticky Business Honey”

Town of Morinville

Wild Rose Old Tyme Fiddlers Assn

YAMAHA Canada Music Ltd.

Our thanks go out to the 2016 Executive and Board of Directors of the Canadian Grand Masters and all of the volunteers who have worked very hard for the past year to make this event possible

Executive and Board Members:

Graham Sheppard: President

Chair of CGM Fiddle Camp

Stacey Read: Vice-President

Chair of the Competition Contestants Committee

Graham Crate: Treasurer

Mary Lynn Wood: Secretary

Trent Bruner: Director

Loretta Fitzpatrick: Director

Membership Coordinator

Randy Foster: Director

Victor Frush: Director

Michel Mallette: Director

Chair 2017 CGMFC Quebec

Denise MacCaull: Director

Fundraising Cordinator

Troy McGillivray: Director

Lois Siegel: Director

Calvin Vollrath: Director

Chair 2016 CGMFC Alberta

Additional thanks is extended to the CGM Alberta Steering Committee which included the following people, as well as numerous un-named volunteers who stepped forward in many capacities.

Calvin Vollrath

Rhea Labrie

Donna Ingram

Debby Gargus

Ken Clarke

Randy Jones

Barb Haney

Barbara Rehn

Roy Waselenchuk

Charlie Gargus

Gary Giesbrecht

Troy Gates

Inez Kreamer

Kathy Vander Reyden

Thank you to everyone who took an interest in bringing the Canadian Grand Masters to Alberta. Your enthusiasm, willingness to help and your attendance at this event is something to be proud of.