Ottawa, ON

1st Place: Jane Cory (MB)
2nd Place:
Ethan Harty (AB)
3rd Place:
Kyle Burghout (ON)

Top 11 Finalists:

  1. Jane Cory – MB

  2. Ethan Harty – AB

  3. Kyle Burghout – ON

  4. Michael Burnyeat – BC

  5. Emma March – ON

  6. Paul Lemelin – ON

  7. Raymond Knorr – SK

  8. Lia Gronberg – BC

  9. Janelle Melanson – NB

  10. Alanna Jenish – ON

  11. Danny Perrault – QC

Junior Showcase Performers:

  • Lucas Candelino – ON

  • Shade Clark – AB

  • Anna Smilek – ON


  • Trent Bruner – piano

  • Melika Lemelin – piano

  • Ben Knorr – guitar


  • Brian Hebert – ON

  • Mark Sullivan – BC

  • Daniel Gervais – AB

Master of Ceremonies:

  • Cathy Sproule

Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Scott Woods

People’s Choice Award:

  • Duncan McDougall

Ward Allen Memorial Trophy for “Best Old Time Waltz”

  • Ethan Harty (for “Mike & Aileen's Waltz” in the Preliminary Round)

Yamaha Prize Winner

  • Andrew Richmond


1st place – Title of Canadian Grand Masters Fiddling Champion ($3500)

2nd place ($2250)

3rd place ($1100)

Sponsored by The Barrhaven Fiddleheads

4th to 11th places ($500.00)


People’s Choice Award

Sponsored by Calvin Vollrath

Ward Allen Memorial Trophy “Best Old Time Waltz”

Sponsored by Ann Allen

Yamaha Electric Fiddle

Sponsored by Yamaha Canada Music Ltd.


Gold Partner ($3000+)

Valley Heritage Radio 98.7 Renfrew, Ontario

Silver Partners ($2000+)

Yamaha Canada Music Ltd.

Bronze Partners ($1000+)

The Barrhaven Fiddleheads

Collector’s Corner Violins


Long & McQuade

Tiger Island Trio & Friends

Friends ($500+)


Custom Cabinetry


Elizabeth Cosgrove, CFP

Holiday Inn Express, Orleans

Ivan & Vivian Hicks

TD Asset Management

TRIO Financial Planning


Mackenzie Financial

Pharmacie Jean Coutu (Embrun)

Shane Cook

Our thanks go out to the 2018 Executive and Board of Directors of the Canadian Grand Masters and all of the volunteers who have worked very hard for the past year to make this event possible

Executive and Board Members:

Cathy Sproule President

Victor Frush Vice-President

Aylene Gracie Treasurer

Sandy Schlieman Secretary

Trent Bruner Director

Randy Foster Camp Director

Victor Garbutt Director

Kristin Grzegorek Promotions

Brian Hebert Director

Patti Kusturok 2020 Contest Chair

Michel Mallette Director

Mark Sullivan 2019 Contest Chair

Calvin Vollrath 2018 Contest Chair

Lorraine Bussiere Translator

Alan Perks Fundraiser

Additional thanks is extended to the Ontario Steering Committee which included the following people, as well as numerous un-named volunteers who stepped forward in many capacities.

Calvin Vollrath: 2018 Contest Chair – Coordinator Ontario Steering Committee

Thank you to everyone who took an interest in bringing the Canadian Grand Masters to Ottawa, Ontario. Your enthusiasm, willingness to help and your attendance at this event is something to be proud of.